Jealous Haters Since 1998!
Home | News | Reviews | Day In Rock | Photos | RockNewsWire | Singled Out | Tour Dates/Tix | Feeds

O Brother, Where Art Thou? 10th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue

Universal have set an August 16th release date for the 10th Anniversary expanded two-CD set, O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition, with legendary original producer T Bone Burnett personally involved in all aspects of this release.

The album that rocketed bluegrass, roots and even Americana music from the 20th Century into the new millennium features a 17-track bonus disc. Thirteen of these newly-released songs were recorded during original sessions for the film, and all except "Cow Road" and "I'll Fly Away" went unheard on-screen. This release marks the first time these tracks have been made available in any format.

Produced by 12-time GRAMMY Award- and Academy Award-winner T Bone Burnett, the original O Brother, Where Art Thou? soundtrack from the 2000 film—written, directed and produced by the Coen Brothers and starring George Clooney—shot to No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 and Country charts and became a bona fide music phenomenon, despite scant radio airplay. Along with ALBUM OF THE YEAR honors, the album won GRAMMYs for "I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" performed by Dan Tyminski, Harley Allen and Pat Enright, and "O Death" by the legendary Dr. Ralph Stanley.

The second disc of the O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition features artists who appeared on the original album (John Hartford, Norman Blake, the Fairfield Four, the Cox Family and the Peasall Sisters) plus some who did not (Colin Linden, Alan O'Bryant, Ed Lewis and Van Dyke Parks). The disc's previously recorded tracks are a pair from Duke Ellington, "Tom Devil" by Ed Lewis and the Prisoners, and "I'll Fly Away" by the Kossoy Sisters.

The music from O Brother, Where Art Thou? spawned an award-winning hit album and a groundbreaking Nashville concert. The resulting documentary film of that show, Down From The Mountain, led to another GRAMMYฎ-winning album and a sold-out U.S. tour. A decade later, this landmark album, alternate versions of many of its songs, and other recordings from the film have been brought together for the first time to introduce new fans to this great music and reward longtime fans with a new treasure trove of musical gems from the original sessions.

Track Listing:

O Brother, Where Art Thou? – Deluxe Edition


Disc One: The Original O Brother Where Art Thou

"Po' Lazarus" - James Carter and prisoners
"Big Rock Candy Mountain" - Harry McClintock
"You Are My Sunshine" - Norman Blake
"Down To The River To Pray" - Alison Krauss
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" - The Soggy Bottom Boys
"Hard Time Killing Floor Blues" - Chris Thomas King
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" - Norman Blake
"Keep On The Sunny Side" - The Whites
"I'll Fly Away" - Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
"Didn't Leave Nobody But The Baby" - Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
"In The Highways" – Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
"I Am Weary, Let Me Rest" - The Cox Family
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" - John Hartford
"O Death" - Ralph Stanley
"In The Jailhouse Now" – The Soggy Bottom Boys
"I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" – The Soggy Bottom Boys
"Indian War Whoop"- John Hartford
"Lonesome Valley" - Fairfield Four
"Angel Band" - The Stanley Brothers

Disc Two: Bonus Disc

* Unreleased Tracks

* 1. "Hard Time Killing Floor Blues" - Colin Linden
* 2. "You Are My Sunshine" - Alan O'Bryant
* 3. "Tishamingo County Blues" - John Hartford
4. "Mood Indigo" - Duke Ellington
* 5. "Cow Road" – T Bone Burnett
6. "I'll Fly Away" – The Kossoy Sisters
* 7. 'Big Rock Candy Mountain" - Van Dyke Parks
8. "Admiration" - Duke Ellington
9. "Tom Devil" - Ed Lewis and the Prisoners
* 10. "Keep On The Sunny Side" - The Cox Family
* 11. "Angel Band" – Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
* 12. "Big Rock Candy Mountain" - Norman Blake
* 13. "Little Sadie" - Norman Blake
* 14. "In The Highways" - The Cox Family
* 15. "That Hog's Foot Further In The Bed" - John Hartford
* 16. "The Lord Will Make A Way" - Fairfield Four
* 17. "In The Jailhouse Now" - Harley Allen

Preview and Purchase O Brother CDs

O Brother Tour Dates/Tickets

O Brother T-shirts and Posters

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

antiMUSIC News featured on and Yahoo News



News Reports
• Day in Rock:
Lamb Of God's Mark Morton Streams Chester Bennington Collaboration- Rush Members To Make Special Appearance- Unreleased David Bowie Tracks In New Collection- more

• Day in Pop

• B-Sides: Taylor Swift Reveals Her Mother Has Cancer- Rich Homie Quan Surrenders To Police Over Alleged Nightclub Assault- Justin Bieber Duets With Ariana Grande- Mumford & Sons- more

 Subscribe To Day in Rock


• Ladies Only: Jennie Abrahamson- Rachel Garlin- Nneka- More

• Album of the Week: Led Zeppelin's When The West Was Won

• Karyn Crisis' Gospel Of The Witches - Salem's Wounds

• The Blues: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers- Arlen Roth, Mike Henderson Band- Slam Allen

• Trauma Interview

• December in Red - The Way Out

• Battleaxe - Power From the Universe Reissue

• SOKO Interview

• The Compulsions - Dirty Fun

• Rock Reads: Morbid Tales! A Tribute to Celtic Frost

• Death Penalty - Death Penalty

• On The Record: The Wild Beyond

• RockPile: Minutian- Odin's Court- THEO

• Michael Ubaldini Interview

• Root 66: Cameron Mitchell- Stacy Jones- Greg Shirley

. .
Today's Rock News
. Lamb Of God's Mark Morton Streams Chester Bennington Collaboration

Rush Members To Make Special Appearance

Unreleased David Bowie Tracks In New Collection

Def Leppard Announce Summer Tour Dates

Avenged Sevenfold's M Shadows Guests On John Dolmayan Album

Aerosmith To Rock Steven Tyler's Grammy Awards Viewing Party

Tedeschi Trucks Band Streaming New Song 'Hard Case'

Queen Bohemian Rhapsody Biopic Nominated For Seven BAFTA Awards

Behemoth Release Ecclesia Diabolica Catholica Video

Blues Music Awards Nominees Announced

Subscribe to Day in Rock Report by Email

Today's Pop News
Latest B-Sides News

More News
anti Worthy Links
• • The Screen Door • A Journal of Musical Things • Lloyd Zeffler blog • Demolish Mag • Nightwatcher's House of Rock • CJ Chilvers • Deja Voodoo • The 1st Five • • Hard Rock Memorabilia • Day in Rock @twitter


Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!
Click Here to Buy T-Shirts!


Tell a Friend about this page - Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2013 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved. antiMusic works on a free link policy for reprinting of our original articles, click here for details. Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.